How I Chose Stories to Critique

You may be wondering how exactly I chose stories to critique (this whole statement is ironic considering I’ve done one as of writing), so here’s a list of criteria I consider when looking for and picking out material.

  1. The story must be already published and publicly available at the time the critique is written.
  2. The story ought to be from a notable magazine, or a respected publication, online or in print. (Ex: Asimov’s and Clarkesworld)
  3. The excerpts are permitted so long as they has enough material to be critiqued.

As of now that’s the only two criteria. Some may be added or removed in the future. Until the time comes when I decide those changes need to be made, these two criteria will be what I use to deem a story worthy for review. There is room, however, for exceptions. However, that is a bridge I will cross when I get there.

Leave a Reply

